Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

So, it's been a long time. What have I been doing since my last posting on December 9, you might ask. Well, the answer is that I've been busy chairing the amazingly awesome Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee. What an incredible experience it was, as I had the privilege of working with some of the most amazing minds in the field of YA literature. Lucky me!

Here's a copy of the press release I sent out this morning. Feel free to help us spread the word!

2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award
Winner and Finalists Announced

The Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) is pleased and proud to announce the winner of the Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award for Young Adult Fiction. Established in 2008 to honor the wishes of young adult author, Amelia Elizabeth Walden, the award allows for the sum of $5,000 to be presented annually to the author of a young adult title selected by the ALAN Amelia Elizabeth Walden Book Award Committee as demonstrating a positive approach to life, widespread teen appeal, and literary merit.

The winner of the 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award is:
Fire by Kristin Cashore

The 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award finalists are:
Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork
(Arthur A. Levine)

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey
(Simon and Schuster)

North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley
(Little, Brown and Company)

The Sweetheart of Prosper County by Jill S. Alexander
(Feiwel and Friends)

All Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award titles will be identified by an award sticker—gold for the winner and silver for the four finalists. This year’s winning title and finalists will be honored at an open reception on Monday, November 22, immediately following the 2010 ALAN Workshop in Orlando, Florida.

The 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee would like to thank: the Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Foundation; the ALAN Executive Council; the ALAN Board of Directors; past AEWA chair Dr. Wendy Glenn; NCTE; and last, but not least, the more than twenty publishers who submitted titles for consideration.

The 2010 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award Committee considered 202 young adult titles throughout the process. The committee was comprised of ten members representing the university, K-12 school, and library communities. They are:

Daria Plumb, Committee Chair
Classroom Teacher
Riverside Academy, Dundee, MI

Erica Berg
Classroom Teacher
Rockville High School, Vernon, CT

Jean Boreen
Northern Arizona University, Department of English, Flagstaff, AZ

C.J. Bott
Retired Classroom Teacher and Consultant
Solon, OH

Lois Buckman
Caney Creek High School, Conroe, TX

Jeff Harr
Classroom Teacher
Theodore Roosevelt High School, Kent, OH

Jeff Kaplan
Associate Professor
University of Central Florida, College of Education, Orlando, FL

Bonnie Kunzel
Youth Services and Adolescent Literacy Consultant
Germantown, TN

Teri Lesesne
Sam Houston State University, Department of Library Science, Huntsville, TX

Barbara Ward
Assistant Professor
Washington State University, Department of Teaching and Learning, Richland, WA

For more information on the award, please visit ALAN Online: The Official Site of the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents http://www.alan-ya.org/ .


( 1 comment — Leave a comment )
Jul. 18th, 2010 09:36 am (UTC)
thank you
These books look wonderful and I am excited to add them to my reading list. I will share this on my blog capabilitymom.com as well.
( 1 comment — Leave a comment )